Contact Our Help CenterGuidance for Students & Families

In addition to contacting administrators, counselors, teachers, and staff directly via telephone or email, students and families can email the new Help Center. A Help Center representative typically responds within 24 hours.
Email the Help Center at 
cwh.virtuallearning@sumterschools.net.

 

Questions or concerns regarding technology can be submitted here. More information regarding technology support can be found on the district web-page.

Administrators and counselors can be contacted directly using the following information:

 

Administration

Dr. Shirley Gamble, Principal Anthonese.gamble@sumterschools.net x7110
James Curry, Assistant Principal James.curry@sumterschools.net x7110
Dwayne Edwards, Athletic Director Dwayne.edwards@sumterschools.net x7110
Rose-Marie Richardson, Assistant Principal Rosemarie.richarsdon@sumterschools.net x7110
Bertha Timmons, Assistant Principal Bertha.timmons@sumterschools.net x7110
Jermaine White, Assistant Principal Jermaine.white@sumterschools.net x7110
Dale Wilson, Assistant Principal Dale.wilson@sumterschools.net x7110

Guidance

Cassandra Breland, Counselor Cassandra.breland@sumterschools.net x7120
Hattie English, Secretary Hattie.english@sumterschools.net x7116
Angela Ham, Career Specialist Angela.ham@sumterschools.net x2020
Kelvin Hastie, Registrar Kelvin.hastie@sumterschools.net x7119
Carmen Leverette, Counselor Carmen.leverette@sumterschools.net x7117
Shirley Nelson, Counselor Shirley.nelson@sumterschools.net x7118
KeaQuanda Robinson, Records Clerk Keaquanda.robinson@sumterschools.net x7136
Mary Sheridan, Military Liaison Mary.sheridan@sumterschools.net x7121
Tony Wilson, Career Specialist Tony.wilson@sumterschools.net x7132

Academics
  1. How will my student be taught during virtual learning?
    • Students will receive live (synchronous) and independent (asynchronous) instruction aligned to South Carolina College and Career Ready Standards.
    • Students will use Google Meet for daily live instruction and Google Classroom for each of their scheduled classes.
    • Students will receive a class code for their Google Classroom(s).
    • Students are expected to participate in classroom discussions, small group work, virtual break-out sessions, as well as virtual chat and engage with the teachers throughout the entire virtual lessons.
    • Students will have an opportunity for additional live teacher support during scheduled Student Support and Enrichment.
  2. How can I assist in monitoring my student’s academic performance?
    • Parents/guardians should contact CHS Guidance at (803) 469-6200 ext. 7116 to update their contact information and request access to Parent Portal to monitor academics and attendance.
    • Parents/guardians should have their student or teacher add them as a ‘Parent/Guardian’ in each Google Classroom to monitor submission of coursework and due dates.
      • If your student is unable to add you to their Google Classrooms, please contact her/his teachers.

Attendance
  1. How will my student’s attendance be recorded?
    • Student attendance during live virtual sessions is mandatory.
    • Attendance will be recorded at the beginning of each virtual block.
    • Student attendance will also be monitored by tracking online coursework and submission of assignments.
    • Parents/guardians will be contacted by the school after two consecutive absences.
    • Three consecutive or five overall absences is truancy. An Attendance Intervention Plan (AIP) may be triggered at this point.
  2. How can I assist in monitoring my student’s attendance?
    • Parents/guardians should contact CHS Guidance at (803) 469-6200 ext. 7116 to update their contact information and request access to Parent Portal to monitor academics and attendance.
    • Parents/guardians should have their student or teacher add them as a ‘Parent/Guardian’ in each Google Classroom to monitor submission of coursework and due dates.
      • If your student is unable to add you to their Google Classrooms, please contact her/his teachers.

 


Behavior
  1. How will my student’s attendance be recorded?
    • Students are expected to follow class session norms as established by the teacher.
    • Students are expected to follow the Sumter School District Code of Conduct.
    • Students are expected to reach out to school staff if they receive communication that is not positive or respectful.
    • Students are encouraged to anonymously report safety/bullying to district and school staff.
    • Students who fail to meet behavioral expectations will be addressed according to school protocols.
    • Students may be referred to the MTSS team for continued support, intervention and monitoring.
    • Students will follow the Sumter School District Dress Code and be appropriately dressed during all virtual lessons.

Technology
  1. How can my child get a district-issued Chromebook?
    • Sumter School District’s One-to-Global initiative provides a technology device for each student in K-12.
    • Students and parents without a district-issued Chromebook may check one out August 24-29 from 8:30-3:30 at the main entrance.
    • Students and parents who experience technical difficulties are encouraged to submit an IT ticket for questions or concerns here. More information regarding technology support can be found on the district web-page. Additionally, students and parents can contact Ms. Ham or Mr. Scott at (803) 469-6200.
  2. How can I assist my student in monitoring emails sent by their teachers?
  3. How can I assist my student in monitoring assignments and resources posted in their Google Classroom?
    • Parents/guardians can have their student or teacher add them as a ‘Parent/Guardian’ in each Google Classroom to monitor submission of coursework and due dates.
      • If your student is unable to add you to their Google Classrooms, please contact her/his teachers.